Conference programme

18th & 19th March, 2020

  • Up to seven parallel tracks (SEO, PPC, Content, Analytics & Data, New Work and many more)
  • Networking with top experts from all over the world
  • Cutting edge tactics and strategies
  • Each session delivers hands-on content and will inspire you with new ideas

The first SMX Munich 2020 sessions are already confirmed.

The times and the exact order of the sessions will be announced later.

You want to know when the full programme is live?
Sign up for our newsletter now

Newsletter Subscription

Holistic SEO: Sustainable Ranking for Important Content

The same areas always receive too little attention during optimisation. Nobody likes to take care of FAQs, job pages, legal content like imprint and privacy, pagination pages, archives, keyword pages, and much more. These website areas are unpopular because they have no clear goals. Once set up, they fall off the radar. The worst thing, however, is that it is precisely these areas that cause holistic optimisation problems on the website. In this hands-on session, André defines the possible SEO targets for the “unpopular” website areas and ways make optimization sustainable.

Using PPC to Fill the Top of the Funnel: Building Awareness Campaigns in YouTube, Facebook, LinkedIn, and Quora

Joe Martinez

Director of Client Strategy

Clix Marketing

Michelle Morgan

Director of Client Services

Clix Marketing

Search can only capitalize on the demand that is already out there. If you are maximizing the reach from all the keywords you want to target, but also want more search traffic, you are going to have to work on creating the demand yourself. This session will showcase how to research and target new customers that will come back and convert. Learn how to build awareness campaigns in YouTube, Facebook, LinkedIn, and Quora.

The Art of Crawling: Optimising the Crawl-Process

Markus Hövener

Managing Partner

Bloofusion

Each SEO uses crawling tools to analyze websites and uncover errors/potentials. But often only the standard reports are used, e.g. to detect missing meta descriptions. This session is about optimal crawl preparation, efficient execution and advanced analysis techniques that go beyond the typical tips. What is the benefit of matching the XML sitemap with the crawl? How can internal linking be optimized? All this and much more will be shown using common tools (Screaming Frog, Ryte, Sitebulb …).

Questioning Data Quality and Troubleshooting Tracking Gaps

Christopher Gutknecht

Head of Online Marketing

bergzeit

Your data is as accurate as it gets? Regardless how much money and how many resources you spend based on your data, you always have to question quality to get an accurate picture. In this session Christopher will discuss the typical pitfalls of sales tracking, the differences of click and session tracking as well as Analytics and Google Ads Tracking. You will learn how much ad blockers, ITP and 3rd party cookies influence your data and how to deal with GDPR issues regarding redirect cookies and sitewide tags. We will also cover the role of attribution settings and models, the most important settings in Google Tag Manager and advanced techniques for backend tracking, GTM & GA monitoring. You will walk away with many hands on tips to assess data quality and take home a checklist, because this session is covering a lot!

PPC Data Visualisation – Beyond the Surface

Samantha Noble

MD & Founder

Biddable Moments

Most people think about using Google Data Studio to create visual reporting dashboards that provide summaries of overall performance. But this is just scratching the surface of what you can use this platform for. Throughout this session you will learn lots of tips and hacks for using Data Studio to help you visualise your PPC, not just for reporting, but for daily management of your campaigns. Keep up to date with competitor trends, monitor performance against targets, uncover insights quickly to help you make better optimisation decisions. All this and more will be covered in this highly actionable session.

Getting Google’s Recipe Just Right for Local Businesses

Mike Blumenthal

Founder and Author

Understanding Google Maps & Local Search

To develop a local search strategy that works, you need to separate fact from fiction. And you need to be on top of all the Google changes related to Local SEO. Mike Blumenthal, regarded as the foremost expert on local search and Google Maps, earning the nickname “Professor Maps” ran an experiment over a period of 16 month. The challenge was to establish a local restaurant online, with only a Facebook presence, no Google listing, no website and no budget. Many questions were asked (and answered) on the way such as: Does Google or Facebook deliver more conversions? Can a Google My Business website rank? What impact do Google only tools have on rank? How much influence does NAP confusion have? In this session you can come on a ride with Mike and see the journey he took with this challenge. Get the answers you need to understand what really matters in local search and what is only a myth based on real data and results. This session is relevant to small local business equally as it is for franchises.

Zero Keyword SERPs: Google Discover Optimization

Valentin Pletzer

Head of SEO

BurdaForward

Google’s vision of relevant results without search queries has become reality in the form of Discover. But many SEOs are still quite suspicious about this traffic source, even though many content providers already generate more traffic via Google Discover than via search! It’s about time to deal with Discover. In this session Valentin shows you how Google Discover works, what role entities play in Google Search, News and YouTube and how to optimize for it. He also introduces an analytics setup that can be used for real-time analysis and solves the problem of detecting traffic from Google Discover.

Leveraging the Quality Rater Guidelines for a Content Audit

Which content does Google consider “High Quality Content”? It’s extremely difficult to answer this question as there are many aspects to it. Understanding the Google Quality Rater Guidelines and being on top of all the updates is challenging, but a very important step to maintaining high quality content. Everything in Google’s Search Quality Rater Guidelines (QRG) is either already being algorithmically determined by Google or is something that Google wants to deal with in their algorithms. Marie and her team have spent a huge amount of time analyzing the QRG and all the changes over the years. In this session, she will discuss how to leverage the guidelines to audit and adjust your existing content.

Google Ads + Marketing Automation for B2B = More qualified Leads and Sales

Robin Heintze

Founder and CEO

morefire

At the beginning of the buying decision process, Google Ads keywords do not work for direct selling or attracting enquiries but are important in the decision-making process. Often they are simply discontinued, or they are running along without any more attention and even with landing pages that don’t fit. Neither usually leads to a conversion and generates an acceptable CPA. But these search queries are really important for decision making in the early phases of the purchasing process. Users inform themselves and build trust. This gap in the customer journey can be closed by combining PPC & Marketing Automation. In this session Robin will explain how you can build a Google Ads strategy for longer decision-making processes and support it by high-quality content and marketing automation so that not every contact with potential customers has to be bought again and again via Google Ads.

SEO Microservice Architectures

Helen Schrader

Senior SEO Manager

OBI Digital

Benedikt Kirch

Team Manager

OBI Digital

Microservices have become indispensable in today’s information architecture. The departure from rigid (shop) monoliths and the simultaneous development of vertical microservices offers the opportunity for specialization and the coupling of business requirements. Helen and Benedikt show how SEO can be part of agile product development to let Inhouse SEOs carry out iterative improvement processes and to work independently of area boundaries within the shop system. You will learn how the internationalization of the shop has been significantly simplified, how the proactive monitoring of all SEO-relevant changes in the shop system provides more security, how all SEOs work with a single user interface, even across different systems (e.g. shop system, CMS, PIM, etc.), and how SEOs have evolved from “petitioner” in agile teams to the central point in a dedicated Scrum Team.

Using Psychology to Improve Your Google Ads Performance

Andi Jarvis

Founder & Strategy Director

Eximo Marketing

While the options in Google Ads (including Gmail ads, user-generated Shopping ads, YouTube ads and Text ads) change at a dizzying speed, human behaviour changes slowly and the way that people make clicking or buying decisions remains broadly the same. So how do all these new opportunities match the reality of human behaviour? In this presentation, Andi will take you through some key areas of customer buying psychology and explain how you can use them to improve the performance of your campaigns.

Close Selected Tag:
We use cookies to provide you with the best possible experience on our website. By utilising our website you agree to the placement of cookies on your device. Find out more

Konferenzprogramm

18. und 19. März 2020

  • Bis zu sieben parallel laufende Tracks (SEO, SEA, Content, Analytics & Data, New Work u.v.m.)
  • Networking mit Top-Experten aus der ganzen Welt
  • Cutting Edge Taktiken und Strategien
  • Jede Session hat umsetzbare Inhalte und Inspiration

Die ersten Sessions der SMX München 2020 sind bereits bestätigt.

Die Zeiten sowie die genaue Reihenfolge der Sessions wird noch bekannt gegeben.

Du willst erfahren wenn das komplette Programm live ist?
Trage dich für unseren Newsletter ein!

Newsletter abonnieren

Holistisches SEO: Nachhaltiges Ranking für wichtige Inhalte funktioniert nur mit Fundament

André Goldmann

Gründer und Inhaber

Büro für gute Websites

Es sind immer wieder dieselben Bereiche, die bei der Optimierung zu wenig Aufmerksamkeit bekommen. Niemand kümmert sich gerne um FAQs, Jobseiten, Legal-Inhalte wie Impressum und Datenschutz, Paginationsseiten, Archiven und Schlagwortseiten und vieles mehr. Diese Websitenbereiche sind unbeliebt, weil oft keine klaren Ziele für sie definiert sind. Einmal aufgesetzt fallen sie vom Optimierungsradar. Das Schlimme dabei ist jedoch, dass gerade diese Bereiche bei schlechter Optimierung für ganzheitliche Probleme auf der Website sorgen. Wir steigen HandsOn ein: In dieser Session definiert André für euch die möglichen SEO Ziele für die „unbeliebten“ Websitenbereiche und die Wege zur nachhaltigen Optimierung.

Cleverer Einsatz von PPC für einen vollen Marketing Funnel: Awareness Kampagnen auf YouTube, Facebook, LinkedIn und Quora

Joe Martinez

Director of Client Strategy

Clix Marketing

Michelle Morgan

Director of Client Services

Clix Marketing

Die Suche profitiert nur von der Nachfrage, die bereits existiert. Wenn ihr aber die Reichweite aller Keywords, die für euch wichtig sind, maximieren möchtet und gleichzeitig mehr Suchanfragen generieren wollt, dann müsst ihr selbst Nachfrage schaffen. In dieser Session zeigen wir euch, wie ihr mit Awareness Kampagnen auf YouTube, Facebook, LinkedIn und Quora neue Kunden findet und diese so ansprecht, dass sie zurückkommen und konvertieren.

The Art of Crawling: Der optimale Crawl-Prozess von Anfang bis Ende

Markus Hövener

Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter

Bloofusion

Jeder SEO nutzt Crawling-Tools, um Websites zu analysieren und Fehler/Potenziale aufzudecken. Oft aber werden nur die Standard-Reports genutzt, um z. B. fehlende Meta Descriptions zu erkennen. In dieser Session geht es daher um die optimale Crawl-Vorbereitung, die effiziente Durchführung und um erweiterte Analyse-Techniken, die über die typischen Tipps hinausgehen. Was bringt der Abgleich der XML-Sitemap mit dem Crawl? Wie kann man die interne Verlinkung optimieren? All das und noch viel mehr wird anhand gängiger Tools (Screaming Frog, Ryte, Sitebulb …) anhand von Beispielen gezeigt.

Wie belastbar sind eure Daten wirklich? Datenqualität, Tracking Lücken und der sinnvolle Umgang damit

Christopher Gutknecht

Head of Online Marketing

bergzeit

Ganz egal wie viel Geld und Ressourcen auf Basis von Daten investiert werden, kaum jemand hinterfragt deren Qualität. Werbeblocker, GDPR und Herausforderungen mit der Multi Channel Integration erschweren akkurates Tracking zusätzlich. In dieser Session diskutiert Christopher die typischen Stolperfallen beim Sales Tracking, die Unterschiede zwischen Click und Session Tracking und zwischen Analytics und Google Ads Tracking. Ihr seht wie Werbeblocker, ITP und 3rd Party Cookies eure Daten beeinflussen und wie ihr mit den GDPR Problemen hinsichtlich Redirect Cookies und Sitewide Tags umgehen solltet. Außerdem beschäftigen wir uns mit Attribution-Settings und -Modellen, den wichtigsten Settings im Google Tag Manager und fortgeschrittenen Techniken für Backend Tracking, GTM & GA Monitoring. Klingt nach viel Input? Ist es auch! Ihr holt euch eine Menge umsetzbarer Tipps und bekommt auch eine Checkliste, damit auch wirklich kein Input verloren geht.

SEA-Datenvisualisierung – Jenseits der Oberflächlichkeit

Samantha Noble

MD & Founder

Biddable Moments

Die meisten Leute nutzen (oder denken darüber nach) Google Data Studio für die Erstellung von visuellen Report-Dashboards, die eine Zusammenfassungen Gesamt-Performance liefern. Aber damit kratzt ihr wirklich nur an der Oberfläche dessen, was diese Plattform eigentlich leisten kann. In dieser HandsOn Session zeigt euch Sam viele Tipps und Hacks, wie ihr mit Data Studio euer SEA visualisieren könnt und das nicht nur für Reporting-Zwecke, sondern auch für das tägliche Management eurer Kampagnen. Haltet euch über Wettbewerbstrends auf dem Laufenden, kontrolliert Leistungen anhand von Zielen und holt euch schnelle Erkenntnisse, um bessere Optimierungsentscheidungen zu treffen.

Das richtige Google-Rezept für Local Businesses

Mike Blumenthal

Gründer und Autor

Understanding Google Maps & Local Search

Um eine funktionierende, lokale Suchstrategie zu entwickeln, müsst ihr zunächst Fakten von Mythen trennen. Und natürlich müsst ihr immer auf dem aktuellsten Stand der Google Local Search Updates sein. Mike Blumenthal ist einer der weltweit führenden Experten für lokale Suche und Google Maps und trägt nicht zu Unrecht den Spitznamen „Professor Maps“. Auf der SMX München zeigt er zum ersten Mal sein neuestes Experiment, das er über einen Zeitraum von 16 Monaten durchgeführt hat. Die Herausforderung bestand darin, ein lokales Restaurant online zu etablieren. Es gab nur eine Facebook-Präsenz, kein Google-Listing, keine Webseite und kein Budget. Dafür gab es umso mehr Fragen (und am Ende auch Antworten), z. B: Liefert Google oder Facebook mehr Conversions? Kann eine Google My Business Webseite ranken? Welche Auswirkungen haben Google-Tools auf das Ranking? Wie viel Einfluss haben unklare NAPs? In dieser Session nimmt euch Mike mit auf seine Reise durch all die Herausforderungen, die das Experiment mit sich gebracht hat. Holt euch die aktuellen Informationen zu Local Search und lernt, was bei der lokalen Suche wirklich wichtig und was nur ein Mythos ist – all das basierend auf realen Daten und Ergebnissen. Diese Session ist für kleine lokale Unternehmen gleichermaßen relevant wie für Franchise Unternehmen.

Zero-Keyword-SERPs: Google Discover Optimierung

Valentin Pletzer

Head of SEO

BurdaForward

Googles Vision von relevanten Ergebnissen ohne Suchanfragen ist in Form von Discover zur Realität geworden. Doch viele SEOs betrachten den Traffic-Bringer noch recht argwöhnisch, obwohl so mancher Content Provider schon heute mehr Traffic über Google Discover generiert als über die Suche! Höchste Zeit, sich mit dieser Traffic Quelle zu beschäftigen. In dieser Session zeigt euch Valentin, wie Google Discover funktioniert, welche Rolle Entitäten in der Google Suche, News und YouTube spielen und wie man dafür optimiert. Außerdem stellt er ein Analytics-Setup vor, das für Echtzeit-Analysen verwendet werden kann und das Problem der Erkennung von Traffic aus Google Discover löst.

Microservice-Architekturen im SEO

Helen Schrader

Senior SEO Manager

OBI Digital

Benedikt Kirch

Team Manager

OBI Digital

Microservices sind in der heutigen Informationsarchitektur nicht mehr wegzudenken. Der Abschied von starren (Shop) Monolithen und der gleichzeitige Aufbau vertikaler Microservices bietet die Möglichkeit zur Spezialisierung und der Kopplung von fachlichen Anforderungen. Helen und Benedikt zeigen euch in dieser Session wie bei OBI, SEO als Teil der agilen Produktentwicklung den Inhouse SEOs die Möglichkeit gibt, iterative Verbesserungsprozesse durchzuführen und losgelöst von Bereichsgrenzen innerhalb des Shopsystems zu arbeiten. Ihr seht, wie damit die Internationalisierbarkeit des Shops deutlich vereinfacht wurde, für mehr Sicherheit durch proaktives Monitoring aller SEO-relevanten Änderungen am Shopsystem gesorgt ist, alle mit einer Nutzeroberfläche, auch über verschiedene Systeme (z. B. Shopsystem, CMS, PIM, etc.) hinwegarbeiten und wie SEO vom „Bittsteller“ in agilen Teams zum zentralen Punkt in einem dezidierten Scrum Team wurde.

Optimierung euer Google Ad Performance mithilfe der Psychologie

Andi Jarvis

Founder & Strategy Director

Eximo Marketing

Mit schwindelerregender Geschwindigkeit eröffnen sich neue Möglichkeiten unsere Zielgruppe mit Google Ads wie Gmail-Anzeigen, User-Generated Shopping Anzeigen, YouTube und Text Anzeigen zu erreichen. Aber die Art und Weise, wie Menschen Entscheidungen darüber treffen, was sie kaufen wollen und auf welche Buttons sie klicken, bleibt weitgehend gleich. Wie passen all diese neuen Optionen mit der Realität des menschlichen Verhaltens zusammen? In dieser Session zeigt Andi euch einige der wichtigsten Bereiche der Kundenkaufpsychologie und erklärt, wie ihr diese nutzen könnt, um euer Marketing und die Leistung eurer Kampagnen zu verbessern.

schließen Ausgewählter Tag:
Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Webseiten besser an Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen zu können. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseiten akzeptieren Sie die Speicherung von Cookies auf Ihrem Computer, Tablet oder Smartphone. Erfahren Sie mehr darüber