SMX Video Library

Here you can find videos of selected sessions of SMX Munich.

  • View selected sessions again
  • additionally you can download the presentations
  • sign up for the newsletter to stay up to date

SMX Munich 2019

The Four Horsemen of the Web Marketing Apocalypse

Web marketing certainly isn’t going away, but four forces are combining to radically change how we’ve approached our work the last ten years vs. how we’ll have to in the decade ahead. Google’s removal of SEO opportunity, Facebook ending referral traffic, falling ad impact and rising competition spell an end to the “best practices” of the 2010s. In this presentation, Rand will look onto the horizon to see what new tactics and strategies are emerging from the ashes, and what we’ll need to know to stand out in the years ahead.

Rand Fishkin, Founder, SparkToro


Web Performance Madness: Going for Super-Speed Around the Globe

Especially in a mobile-first world, fast loading websites are of outmost importance. Unfortunately, it has become really hard to measure performance as it also depends on your mobile device’s CPU amongst other factors. Also, Google has been very vocal about web performance in the last years and is pushing hard to innovate repeatedly. But performance is so much more! User satisfaction should be the main goal because expectations are clear: You’ve got two seconds maximum to deliver, so make it count. During his talk Bastian will be walking you through various advanced topics around web performance optimisation to make any website really, really fast. After that Bartosz will tackle the technical problems you need to solve if you want to ensure Java Script, which is used by 94% of all websites is working FOR and not AGAINST you to enable top notch user experiences.

Bartosz Góralewicz, CEO, Onely
Martin Splitt, Developer Advocate, Webmaster Trends Analyst Team, Google Switzerland


Predictive SEO

Everyone knows that the implementation of SEO in a wide variety of areas is expensive. Therefore, you should concentrate on the topics and keywords that bring the highest ROI. Image you could predict which rankings will bring the best ROI and you could use your resources in a targeted way right from the start. In this session Sebastian will show you how it’s possible by using Predictive SEO. You’ll see you can automate classification with Machine Learning and then use Google Search Console data to predict which keyword clusters really deserve your attention.

Sebastian Erlhofer, CEO, mindshape GmbH


This Time, the Robots ARE Coming

Jim Sterne has an impressive track record looking over the horizon and telling the rest of us what to expect. He wrote his first book, “World Web Marketing:” in 1995. He wrote “Web Metrics” in 2002, He wrote “Artificial Intelligence for Marketing” in 2017. This year, he explains how robots will help you do your job and how they will transform marketing forever. Your professional, digital agents can work by your side to get the right message to the right person at the right time. But soon, marketing as we know it will change forever. If you’re in B2B or B2C and have learned to survive in a C2C world, get ready for C2B: where your customers’ bots negotiate with your bots.

Jim Sterne, Co-Founder and Board Chair, Digital Analytics Association



Hacking Google: Improving your SEO by Thinking Like a Hacker

Tom has long been fascinated with how the web works… and how he could break it. In this presentation, Tom will discuss some of the times that he has discovered security issues in Google, Facebook and Twitter. He will talk about compromising Search Console so that he could look up any penalty in the Manual Action tool, and how last year, after he discovered a major bug that let him rank brand new sites on the first page with no links at all, Google paid him a reward for his ethical research. Tom will show some of the ways that thinking like a hacker can be applied to improving your SEO, from understanding quirks of how Google Bot works, to ways to novel analytics gathering.

Tom Anthony, Head of R&D, Distilled


Migration: Best Practices and Specific Challenges for M&A and Domain- or Brand Name Change

Are you planning on switching to HTTPS, introducing a new CMS, changing hosting providers or relaunching your templates? Many things can go wrong, and most of the consequences are severe. But we’ve got you covered! In this session, Bastian will share hands-on advice on how to plan a migration, as well as how to avoid the most common problems. In addition, Patrick discusses the special challenges you face when the migration is based on M&A, user- or a domain name/brand name change. Attend this session and you will be well prepared for one of SEO’s biggest challenges.

Jamie Alberico, SEO Product Owner, Arrow Electronics
Patrick Stox, Technical SEO, IBM


How to Survive When Technology Takes Over?

Did you know that 52% of the Fortune 500 companies of 2000 don’t exist anymore? And that digital disruption will wipe out another 40% in the next decade? AI, voice & personalisation are conquering the world. Once again, technology completely changes the way we do business and communicate with prospects and clients. How can you keep on winning the hearts of your customers in this new era? How to make sure you will survive? After 18 years of successes and defeats as a digital consultant for companies as TUI, Carglass and Yoast, Karl thinks he has found the answer. And he’ll share it with you.

Karl Gilis, Co-founder, AGConsult


Adventures in SEO Cannibalisation

Dealing with over 100 Million pages in search is never an easy challenge, especially when many pages are similar in nature within an e-commerce setup. To test the theory of deduplication and its benefits, Jason and his team ran through a 6 month extended experiment focused entirely on the concept of cannibalisation in rankings. In this session he will run you through the process of issue detection, testing calibration and findings; in Google, Bing and beyond! After that Ross will go into nitty gritty agency systems that you need in place, to find cannibalisation, report on it and fix it.

Jason Paget, Senior Product Owner – SEO, Booking.com
Ross Tavendale, Managing Director, Type A Media


Google Search Console – Beyond the Basics

The Google Search Console is an important tool for every SEO. In this session Stephan will show you how to generate data with the help of the API, how you can refine data by aggregation, and how to effectively use this data in your optimisation processes. You will learn how data is analysed in the GSC and what this means for SEO – beware of data traps! Get hands-on tips on how to solve SEO problems like URL cannibalisation and how to create automated reports and monitoring solutions.

Stephan Walcher, Team Lead SEO Consulting, One Advertising


Close Selected Tag:
We use cookies to provide you with the best possible experience on our website. By utilising our website you agree to the placement of cookies on your device. Find out more

SMX Video Mediathek

Hier findest du Videos von ausgewählten Sessions der SMX München.

  • Schau dir ausgewählte Sessions noch einmal an
  • zusätzlich kannst du dir die zugehörigen Presentation Downloaden
  • Melde dich für den Newsletter an um auf dem Laufenden zu bleiben

SMX München 2019

Die vier Reiter der Web-Marketing-Apokalypse

Natürlich ist es nicht das Ende allen Web-Marketings, aber vier mächtige Kräfte schließen sich gerade zusammen und das hat Konsequenzen: wie wir unsere Arbeit in den letzten zehn Jahren angegangen sind vs. wie wir im kommenden Jahrzehnt arbeiten werden, wird sich radikal verändern. Google schränkt die SEO Möglichkeiten drastisch ein, Facebook beendet Referral Traffic, die Werbewirkung nimmt stetig ab, der Wettbewerb nimmt stetig zu – unsere „Best Practices“ der 2010er Jahre sind heute nichts mehr wert. In dieser Präsentation wirft Rand einen Blick über den Horizont hinaus und zeigt euch, welche neuen Taktiken und Strategien sich aus den Trümmern entwickeln und was wir wissen müssen, um auch in den kommenden Jahren nicht in der Masse zu versinken, sondern uns hervorzuheben.

Rand Fishkin, Founder, SparkToro


Schnell ist zu langsam: Einmal um die Welt und das in Höchstgeschwindigkeit

Gerade in einer mobilen Welt sind schnell ladende Websites das A und O. Leider ist es schwierig geworden, Performance zu messen, die ja unter anderem auch vom Prozessor des genutzten mobilen Geräts abhängt. Google hat sich in den letzten Jahren immer sehr deutlich bzgl. Web-Performance geäußert und drängt zunehmend auf Innovationen. Aber Performance ist so viel mehr! Die Nutzerzufriedenheit ist das wichtigste Ziel, denn die Erwartungen sind hoch: Ihr habt maximal zwei Sekunden Zeit und die solltet ihr nutzen. Bastian zeigt euch verschiedene fortgeschrittene Topics rund um die Performance Optimierung, die euch helfen werden, jede Website wirklich (wirklich!) schnell zu machen. Danach geht Bartosz die technischen Probleme an, die ihr lösen müsst, wenn ihr sicherstellen wollt, dass Java Script, das von 94 % aller Websites verwendet wird, für und nicht gegen euch arbeitet, damit eure Nutzer am Ende eine erstklassige Erfahrung auf eurer Webseite haben.

Bartosz Góralewicz, CEO, Onely
Martin Splitt, Developer Advocate, Webmaster Trends Analyst Team, Google Switzerland


Predictive SEO

Dass bei der Umsetzung von SEO in verschiedenen Bereichen Aufwände und Kosten entstehen, weiß mittlerweile jeder. Man sollte sich also primär auf die Themen und Keywords konzentrieren, die den höchsten ROI bringen. Was wäre, wenn man vorhersagen könnte, welche Rankings den besten ROI bringen und man so von Anfang an seine Ressourcen zielgerichtet einsetzt? In dieser Session zeigt euch Sebastian, wie auch ihr Predictive SEO einsetzen könnt. Ihr seht, wie ihr eine automatische Klassifizierung mit Machine Learning aufbauen könnt, um dann mittels Google Search Console Daten Vorhersagen zu treffen, welche Keyword Cluster eure Aufmerksamkeit wirklich verdienen.

Sebastian Erlhofer, Geschäftsführer, mindshape GmbH


Diesmal wird es ernst: die Roboter kommen und alles wird sich ändern

Jim Sterne blickt auf eine beeindruckende Erfolgsgeschichte zurück, wenn es darum geht Trends und Entwicklungen frühzeitig zu erkennen und uns ein Bild der nahen Zukunft zu zeichnen. Sein erstes Buch „World Web Marketing“ schrieb er 1995, „Web Metrics“ im Jahr 2002 und „Artificial Intelligence for Marketing“ im Jahr 2017. Und heute? Lasst euch inspirieren und lernt, wie eine Welt aussehen wird, in der die Roboter euch helfen, eure Arbeit zu erledigen und wie sich Marketing dadurch für immer verändern wird. Die professionellen, digitalen Agenten arbeiten an eurer Seite, um die richtige Botschaft zur richtigen Zeit an die richtige Person zu übermitteln. Und bald wird Marketing, wie wir es heute betreiben zum Relikt. Egal ob ihr im B2B- oder B2C-Bereich unterwegs seid, gelernt habt, in einer C2C-Welt zu überleben, ihr solltet euch besser bereit machen für die C2B Welt, in der die Bots eurer Kunden mit euren Bots verhandeln.

Jim Sterne, Co-Founder and Board Chair, Digital Analytics Association



Hacking Google: Wer versteht, wie Hacker denken, verbessert sein SEO

Tom war immer schon fasziniert davon, wie das Web funktioniert und wie man es hacken kann. In dieser Session zeigt er, wie er Sicherheitslücken bei Google, Facebook und Twitter gefunden hat und wie es ihm gelungen ist, die Search Console so einzusetzen, dass jede Penalty im Manual Action Tool sichtbar wurde. Auch hat er einen riesigen Fehler bei Google entdeckt hat, der es ermöglichte, komplett neue Seiten auf der ersten Suchergebnis Seite zu ranken – und das ganz ohne Links! Vom Verständnis der „Eigenheiten“ des Googlebots bis hin zu neuartigen Möglichkeiten der Datenanalyse, Tom zeigt euch, wie auch ihr neue – ethisch unbedenkliche – Wege gehen könnt.

Tom Anthony, Head of R&D, Distilled


Migration: Best Practices und die spezifischen Herausforderungen bei M&A und dem Wechsel von Domain- und Markennamen

Ihr plant die Umstellung auf HTTPS, die Einführung eines neuen CMS, einen Providerwechsel oder gar den Relaunch eurer Templates? Macht ihr euch Sorgen, ob das auch alles glattlaufen wird? Wenn ja, dann zu Recht! Die Liste der potenziellen Probleme ist lang und die meisten Folgen sind nicht nur schwerwiegend, sondern auch langfristig. Aber keine Sorge, in dieser Session holt ihr euch von Bastian praktische Ratschläge, wie ihr eine Migration plant und wie ihr die häufigsten Probleme vermeiden könnt. Im Anschluss zeigt euch Patrick die besonderen Herausforderungen, wenn ihr den Domain- oder Markennamen wechselt oder ein M&A Prozess bevorsteht. Nach dieser Session seid ihr gerüstet für eine der größten SEO Herausforderungen.

Jamie Alberico, SEO Product Owner, Arrow Electronics
Patrick Stox, Technical SEO, IBM


Wenn die Technologie unser Leben bestimmt – Überlebensstrategien für eine neue Ära

52 % der Fortune-500-Unternehmen, die es 2000 gab, existieren heute nicht mehr. Und weitere 40 % der Unternehmen werden in den nächsten 10 Jahren dem digitalen Wandel zum Opfer fallen. KI, Voice und Personalisierung erobern die Welt und wieder einmal verändern Technologien die Art und Weise, wie wir Geschäfte machen und wie wir mit Interessenten und Kunden kommunizieren. Was ist eure Überlebensstrategie? Wie gelingt es euch in einer technologisch dominierten Ära, weiterhin die Herzen eurer Kunden zu gewinnen? Karl blickt auf 18 Jahre voller Erfolge und Rückschläge als digitaler Berater für Unternehmen wie TUI, Carglass und Yoast zurück. Er glaubt, die Antwort gefunden zu haben und teilt sie mit euch. Hier und jetzt!

Karl Gilis, Co-founder, AGConsult


Experiment SEO Kannibalisierung

In der Suche ist der Umgang mit 100 Millionen Seiten eine große Herausforderung. Vor allem, wenn die Seiten, wie bei einem E-Commerce Set Up üblich, sehr ähnlich sind. Um die Theorie der Deduplizierung und die sich daraus ergebenden Vorteile zu testen, haben Jason und sein Team 6 Monate lang ein Experiment durchgeführt, das sich ausschließlich auf das Konzept der Kannibalisierung von Rankings konzentrierte. In dieser Session führt er euch durch die wichtigsten Schritte: Fehlererkennung, Testanpassung und gewonnene Erkenntnisse. Und er zeigt euch, welchen Effekt das Experiment bei Google, Bing und jenseits davon aufgezeigt hat. Im Anschluss geht es um euch: Ross diskutiert, was ihr benötigt, um Kannibalisierung schnell und effektiv zu finden, zu reporten und vor allem zu fixen.

Jason Paget, Senior Product Owner – SEO, Booking.com
Ross Tavendale, Managing Director, Type A Media


Google Search Console – Jenseits der Basics

Die Google Search Console ist ein wichtiges Werkzeug für jeden SEO. In dieser Session zeigt euch Stephan, an welche Daten ihr mithilfe der API kommt, wie ihr Daten durch Aggregation veredelt und ihr diese effektiv in euren Optimierungsprozessen mit einfließen lassen könnt. Ihr lernt u. a. wie die GSC Daten misst und was diese für SEO bedeuten (Achtung vor Daten-Fallen!), holt euch Hands-On Tipps wie man als SEO schnell und effektiv bestimmte SEO Probleme, wie z.B. URL Kannibalisierung lösen kann und wie ihr automatisierte Reports und Monitoring Lösungen erstellt.

Stephan Walcher, Team Lead SEO Consulting, One Advertising


schließen Ausgewählter Tag:
Wir verwenden Cookies, um unsere Webseiten besser an Ihre Bedürfnisse anpassen zu können. Durch die Nutzung unserer Webseiten akzeptieren Sie die Speicherung von Cookies auf Ihrem Computer, Tablet oder Smartphone. Erfahren Sie mehr darüber